Music by Franz Lehár: Lyrics by Adrian Ross and Basil Hood: Book A.M. Willner and Robert Bodansky, adapted from the German by Basil Hood.
Daly's Theatre, 20 May, 1911

Adaptation by Eric Maschwitz and Bernard Grun.

Professional Version: book by Nigel Douglas, lyrics by Eric Maschwitz and Nigel Douglas
Sadler's Wells, 24 January, 1983

New Amsterdam Theatre, Broadway - 16 September, 1912 (120 perfs)


or half a million francs, a penniless Count agrees to marry - and in three month's time divorce - a girl unknown to him, so that, as a Countess, she can become the bride of a Grand Duke. At the wedding ceremony, the pair are separated by a screen - but later they meet and fall in love. Little knowing they are already husband and wife, they believe their romance is hopeless - but a happy ending is beautifully worked out, and the unfolding of the story is greatly enriched by Lehár 's lilting music, which includes two immortal waltzes. Additionally, a ballet to the celebrated "Gold and Silver Waltz" can be included.

Principals: 3 female, 12 male

Musical Numbers:

1911 Version

  1. Overture; Bohemia (Brissard's Song)
  2. Pierrette and Pierrot
  3. In High Society
  4. A Carnival For Life
  5. Bohemia
  6. Say Not Love Is a Dream
  7. The Count of Luxembourg
  8. Love Goodbye
  9. Cousins of the Czar
  10. Finale, Act l;
  11. Hail Angele, Our Nightingale
  12. Love Breaks Every Bond
  13. Are You Going to Dance?

1983 Version

  1. ntroduction/Carnival March
  2. An Attic for Two
  3. The Feast of Mardi Gras
  4. I'm So In Love
  5. A Cheque on the Safest of Banks
  6. I'm to be a Bride Today
  7. Tell Me Can This Be Love?
  8. (Finale, Act 1)
  9. Hail Angele
  10. Love's a Dream
  11. Lip to Lip, Cheek to Cheek
  12. Why Surely This Is Love?
  13. Razzle, Dazzle, Basil
  14. Angel, You're My Heart's Delight
  15. The Perfume of Blossoms in May
  16. Finale, Act 3

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones, percussion, harp, strings. Professional Version: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, 3 percussion, harp, celesta, stage music, strings


Sadlers' Wells Opera - CDTER 1050